Navel gazing at its finest…

…and quite literally, too. My belly button has “popped” I think. I finally had to remove my piercing last week (I made it 17 weeks, though – one of my finer accomplishments in life). Now my belly button is freaking out everyone with its mushy, slightly protuberant center. Maybe I’m really cream-filled? Wouldn’t surprise me in the least.

The house is finally in order. Between getting kicked out for the bathroom renovations (mold is bad for the pregnant lady), then the ensuing rat infestation (well, if you thought the mold was bad… you ain’t seen nothin’ til you’ve seen rat poop), I was not allowed in my own home for 2 1/2 weeks. My Christmas present was to finally sleep in my bed. And if you’ve ever seen my mattress, you would know that it would take a LOT to make me joyous about that!

Just an aside about the rat infestation – I believe that we are the only people ever that can call a single rat in our home an “infestation.” However, this one, coke-can sized beast was able to traverse both floors in our home and poop in nearly every single room. Now I jump whenever I see a squirrel outside.

Now to the more figurative navel gazing: time to do a Year-In-Review post, amiright?

At this time last year, I was helping my parents check out assisted living facilities so that they could bring my grandmother down to Florida to keep a better eye on her (a few falls in her extraordinarily dirty house plus a scary morning incident finding her sitting on the floor at her house rambling to herself doesn’t make for independent living anymore). Since then, she’s been to 2 different facilities down here and improved enough to move back to Maryland to a facility close to her home back in September. She went from barely being able to put pen to paper at the beginning of the year to sending me & the hubby a Christmas card from Maryland. It was really remarkable to see a woman of 91 make such a drastic improvement. It was also very hard acting as a supplemental caregiver for a woman who used to take care of me, especially since she had no other family down here but my parents and myself (and the hubby – he was a big help!). We had to constantly visit her to make sure that she had people that she knew around. While I miss having seeing her, I know she wasn’t happy here and is doing better in Maryland. I also have that extreme guilt of being happy to have more free time now that I don’t have to worry about her having visitors (she has a lot more family up there and even knows some people at the facility).

This year, instead of ALFs, we’re checking out daycare facilities. Similar process, different guilt. The tours start tomorrow. Cross your fingers, spit three times, pray to whatever god/deity/etc. you wish. And yes, in case you were wondering, it seems that I managed to get pregnant the week after we moved my grandmother back up north.

Last year, I also somehow managed to complete a “dissertation” (I was in the only grad program in the world that would give a 37-page research paper that title). Because of this triumph, I received my Master’s degree. My job requires me to have an Associate’s. Underemployed, much?

Now, I’m not one to make a New Year’s resolution, but now that things have settled down, I might be able to post more than once a month. Provided this baby doesn’t devour my brain entirely.  A few girls at work joke that the baby takes your brainpower for itself; I tell them that with the way my mind currently functions, this kid better be a damn GENIUS child.

Leave a Reply

