So, who didn’t see this coming…

Apparently, I didn’t.  Went in for my measuring ultrasound today and got put on rest to get my amniotic fluid levels up.  Baby is looking fine – all perfect scores on the biophysical profile (lots of movement, good muscle tone, strong heart rate, placenta doing it’s job, etc.), but my fluid levels were low.  At 35 weeks, they should be between 10-15 cm.  Critical level, which would be a 1-way ticket to the ER for IV fluids, is 5 cm.  I’m at 7 cm.  It’s not full bed rest, but I have to be resting for at least 50% of the day (laying on left side, blah blah blah).  I’m also supposed to be drinking enough water to be peeing every half-hour or so (now, even as a pregnant lady, I have a decent-sized bladder, so I don’t know how realistic that is), especially considering that I was already up to about a gallon a day (and did I mention I’m only 5 ft. tall???).

Also, baby STILL hasn’t flipped, despite my trips to the chiropractor and some other random tricks (most of which I don’t think I can do while on rest).  The doctor at the ultrasound facility seemed to still think there is time & room for the baby to turn over, so here’s to hoping something happens before my next ultrasound.  Baby is measuring, according to ultrasound (which I know is not very accurate), at around 5 lbs, 7 oz, which is a good size for gestational age and would predict around a 7-pounder at birth.  Not bad at all.

My next ultrasound is on Thursday, and I’m not allowed to go back to work until they check my fluids again.  I didn’t really have enough paid time off to get me through maternity leave before, so I have no idea what I’m going to do with missing 5 days of work.   Since I have to lay down most of the time, it’s not like I can even do much cleaning around the house or anything like that to be semi-productive.  At least baby is moving around like crazy right now to keep me company while hubby is in his second of 3 final exams.  Maybe I will try to restring my guitar – I had wanted to start playing again while I was pregnant so that the baby could hear the music when it was up against my belly.  Who has some tips for things to get done while on not-bed rest???

One comment on “So, who didn’t see this coming…

  1. Jenn3128 says:

    Can’t your Doc just write you out on disability at this point?

    Things to do while laying on your left side, I’m thinking, give me a minute…

    1) Crochet, you can work on your crochet.
    2) Get scrap booking pages all decorated & ready for baby boys face

    That’s all I’m coming up with, besides the obvious, read a book, watch tv…Gawh, I’m getting bored just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

